Political and Administrative Structure

The district is headed by an elected council comprising the LCV Chairperson as the political head with an Executive Committee of 5 members drawn from the elected councilors of the 9 sub-counties and Amuria town council. The council conducts business through five policy /sectorial committees that deliberate policy matters and make recommendations to the full council. The sectorial committees include: Finance, Planning, Administration and Investment; Works, Water and Roads Committee; Production, Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries, Forestry, Environment, and Marketing Committee; Community Development, Gender, Labour, Youth, Children, Elderly and Disabled; and Education, Sports, Health and Sanitation

The district is currently made up of two counties – Amuria and Orungo. Amuria County is made up of Six LLGs, One Town Council and Two Town Boards, which are; Abarilela, Asamuk, Kuju, Wera, Apeduru, Willa, Amuria Town Council; and Wera and Asamuk Town Board.

Orungo County is made up of Four LLGs and One Town Board, which are; Ogolai, Morungatuny, Orungo, Akeriau and Orungo Town Board.

All the old LLGs have functioning local councils made up of elected councilors with directly elected chairpersons each. Sub counties and the Ministry of Local Government also created new parishes and several villages also gazetted a number of town boards that are equivalents of parishes.